Why Knoxville?

The Knoxville Ice Bears have been a staple of professional hockey in the south for more than 20 years. During that time, the Ice Bears have won four President’s Cup titles and five regular season titles. The organization has a rich history of producing league MVPs, All-SPHL selections and call-ups for players to higher levels. Our organization is dedicated to establishing a winning culture to compete for championships and lead players to success on and off the ice. In addition, players will have the opportunity to play in front of highly-attended home games night in and night out with one of the most passionate and loyal fan bases in professional hockey.

About the Ice Bears

Since being founded in 2002, the Knoxville Ice Bears have had great success as an organization on the ice, in the stands and in the community. Over the course of its team’s history, Knoxville has produced the following accomplishments on the ice:

  • 4 President’s Cups (tied-most all time)
  • 5 regular season titles (tied-most all time)
  • 5 SPHL MVPs (most all time)
  • 9 Kevin Swider Leading Scorer Awards (most all time)
  • 4 Playoff MVPs (tied-most all time)
  • 54 All-SPHL selections
  • 6 Defenseman of the Year Awards (most all time)
  • 1 Goaltender of the Year Award
  • 2 Coach of the Year Awards
  • Most wins in SPHL history